Leaving the Nest

Ole Miss Campus

Five years ago, my family and I moved to Oxford, Mississippi – a beautiful southern town where the University of Mississippi is the center of our culture. I do not exaggerate when I say the Ole Miss students are the lungs of our community, breathing life into our village  with the arrival of each new semester.

In recent weeks, local college freshman have been receiving my little picture books as unique “leaving the nest” gifts from their moms. Several co-eds have even stopped me on the square to tell me how much the books meant to them. Two confessed they cried when they read the books. I wouldn’t have believed them, but they even got a little teary-eyed just talking about it.

 TRHE_tricoloredHeron_crw00001_rsz2_kims

Remember that feeling? That stirring apprehension when we first dared to spread our wings and jump? There’s no doubt about it – leaving home for that first year of college can be just as frightening as that first day of preschool.

While I didn’t write these books with college students in mind, I admit I do get all tingly inside when I hear how these stories have warmed the hearts of children – no matter their age.

The thing is…we all have fears. There are times when we each feel small in this great big world. And we all want to know that we’re not alone. The message in the books is universal. It speaks to the child in each of us.

If you’d like to give these books as a gift to someone special in your life,  I encourage you to support local retailers. In my home state of Louisiana, signed copies are available at The Bee’s Knees (Denham Springs) and Cassie’s Closet (Walker). In Oxford, MS., you can find signed copies of the books at Peas & Carrots and Square Books, Jr.

Square Books, Jr. Oxford, MS

Plus — Now, you can order these books directly from Square Books, Jr. where I will sign and personalize them just for you. Pick them up or have them delivered to the recipient of your choice. Orders can be mailed anywhere. Their gift wrapping is free and super cute! Contact Square Books, Jr. for more information: 662.236.2207

Of course, the books also are available nationwide and through many online retailers. Please visit the Order Books segment of this blogsite for options.

Thanks again for your continued interest in these little books. I know it sounds extremely corny — but I really am amazed daily by the fact that a simple story I wrote with my daughter, to help her sleep through the night, has grown arms and reached out to hug the world. Thanks for sharing the love.

Peace,

julie

One thought on “Leaving the Nest

  1. What a wonderful anecdote about the influence of your sweet books. Have you run into any male freshmen who received the book from his mom? I remember we gave our son a sweet book about leaving the nest when he went off to college.

Leave a Reply

