To Speak or Not to Speak

I’ve been quiet lately. It’s hard for those who know me best to believe it, but it’s true. In recent weeks, I’ve been blessed with a few spare moments of time to be alone. Not lonely. But alone. And it’s been an incredible gift.

I’ve had time to examine my life and my priorities, and I’ve had time to get to know myself again in a way I have missed for years. Most mothers are just like me. We run from one responsibility to the next, taking care of everyone and everything except ourselves. Not only had I been driving with my gas light on, my tank was beyond depleted. My engine had stalled, and it was time to make some hard choices. Some doors were closed. Some opened. And I ended up right where I needed to be.

Now, after catching up on peace and quiet and prayer and oh-so-sweet-and-sacred sleep…I feel rejuvenated and renewed. Physically. Emotionally. Spiritually.

The transition was complete yesterday. Our daughter was baptized and confirmed, and we all joined the church…our first time to make that committment since college years. While we have visited many and have even been very involved in some churches, we never took the jump. There was always something holding us back.

During the service yesterday, Claire Dobbs referenced St. Francis of Assisi with one of my favorite quotes. I thought I’d share it with you today, and then….I’ll go back to being quiet.

“Preach the Gospel at all times and when necessary use words.” – Francis of Assisi

One thought on “To Speak or Not to Speak

Leave a Reply

