How to Write a Bestseller (even if you never took a writing class)

Thanks for joining us for the Write Now workshop on HOW TO WRITE A BESTSELLER (even if you never took a writing class). I enjoyed your questions during the workshop and have appreciated the feedback I’ve received from many of you since the call.

If you missed the free teleconference, a complete recording is available (and it’s FREE, too!) I hope you’ll enjoy this and many more of the free Write Now workshops available for writers.

As mentioned in the workshop, I relied heavily on two books to help me pen my New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling novel, Into the Free.

1. Plot and Structure by James Scott Bell

2. Save the Cat by Blake Snyder (a book geared toward screenwriting, but you can find free online beat sheet  calculators to determine the suggested page numbers for a novel – just google Blake Snyder Beat Sheet Calculators to find one that suits your needs.)

I also recommend:

Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott

On Writing by Stephen King

Outlining Your Novel by K.M. Weiland (I don’t outline, but I use this tool after I’ve written a novel to go back through and fill in any gaps.)

Write-a-Thon: Write your book in 26 days and live to tell about it by Rochelle Melander

I encourage you to share your favoritetricks-of-the-trade with all of us. Feel free to comment on this post, or share tips on my facebook page. You can also tweet your thoughts @JulieCantrell (#Bestseller).

Happy Writing!

j

Leave a Reply

